Skip to content

Twisted Fork Bistro

May 6, 2012

I love brunch. It’s perfect for people like me who sleep in on the weekends and don’t wake up early enough to eat breakfast. Vancouver also happens to be a place where there are a lot of great brunch spots to choose from. What better way to spend a late Saturday morning than with some girlfriends and catch up over brunch? Since Twisted Fork Bistro is a popular place for brunch, Mari, Owl, Robot Penguin, and I decided to give it a try.

The restaurant itself is small so they do not accept reservations. We arrived at around 11:15am and were told that it was going to be around a 30 minute wait. In actuality, it was more like a 45 minute wait.  For those who don’t like waiting in line, I recommend going right when they open their doors at 10 am on the weekends.

The bistro has a funky and relaxed vibe to it. The black and white photographs that line the wall adds an artistic and sentimental appeal. The various decorations and artwork also contribute to the charm of the restaurant.

When we were seated, the friendly server handed us a menu of the brunch items to browse over. I love the twisted fork on the menu!

I went with the Eggs Benny since I have never tried it before.

For the filling, I chose smoked salmon. It was served with sides of sautéed spinach, rosti (which is kind of like hash browns), and baked beans.This dish is a twist to the traditional eggs benedict, as the poached eggs were served on top of toasted brioche instead of the regular English muffin. It was my first time trying brioche, and I can’t say I’m too fond of it. The texture is too dry and crumbly for me. However, It did do a good job of soaking up the runny egg yolk from the perfectly poached eggs! The generous amount of smoked salmon piled on top of the toasted brioche tasted delicious. I could’ve had a whole plate of that on its own.

Robot Penguin also ordered the eggs benny, but chose bacon as the filler.

Mari ordered the Gruyere Baked Eggs which came with sourdough toast, bacon, rosti, tomato, and baked beans.

She let me try some her sourdough toast and jam. The jam is made in-house, and I have to say it was very good! It tastes natural and less sweet and artificial than supermarket jams. They sell jars of their housemade jam for people who enjoyed its taste and want to bring some home with them. I also tried a bite of the baked eggs, which was I thought was tasty and savoury but a little too heavy.

Owl went with the Bacon, Caramelized Onion and Brie Frittata filled with plum tomatoes and fresh basil and served with fresh greens and sweet corn relish.

The bite of the frittata I had was delicious, though I do agree with Owl that the sweet corn relish is a little too sour.

Jars of different flavoured jams for sale:

Overall, I think that Twisted Fork Bistro is a solid brunch spot. The food portions are quite large, and we all had trouble polishing off our plates. I like how the brunch items come with different sides than the usual home fries or hash browns. The service was friendly, and I enjoyed the ambient music and cozy setting that served to create a relaxing atmosphere. Twisted Fork Bistro is also open for dinner, and I might return to try some of the French bistro items on their menu such as mussels with frites and oxtail soup!

Twisted Fork Bistro on Urbanspoon

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 7, 2012 8:10 AM

    Cool!! :)
    I like their twisted fork decorations~
    *drools*

Leave a Reply

