Skip to content

Richmond’s Summer Night Market 2011

June 25, 2011

Going to the Summer Night Market in Richmond has been a tradition of mine every summer since I found out about it years ago.  It’s extremely popular and always packed with people, especially if you go later in the night. Go early to avoid the crowd! For those who have never been there before, the night market consists of food stalls as well as stalls selling merchandise at cheaper prices.

I usually don’t buy anything from the merchandise stalls, as the items sold are usually cheap, albeit lower in quality. I’m much more interested in the food — as are most people,  judging from the massive crowds and long line-ups for some of the more popular food stalls.

On this occasion, I was accompanied by Ames, RiceCake, and JL. We ordered a lot of food… so here goes!

Grilled Squid Legs:

It was fun watching them grill the squid legs. There was a lot of smoke though, so be careful not to stand too close.

I only had a bit of this, but from what I recall it was pretty good and flavourful. The squid legs were chewy and grilled to perfection.

Meat Skewers:



Sorry for the blurry picture, it was hard to get a good shot. I think those are lamb and beef skewers?  These were 3 for $6. I didn’t have any, but those who did seemed to have enjoyed it.

A Taiwanese food stall that sells lots of interesting food:

This stall offers Taiwanese hotdog, which is a traditional Taiwanese snack known as “small sausage in large sausage” in Taiwan. The bun part is sticky rice instead of bread, and the hotdog portion is Taiwanese pork sausage. Instead of ketchup and mustard, it’s topped with garlic and pickles among other condiments.

They also have candied fruit skewers here as well, which are strawberries coated in hardened sugar.

When I saw the picture of the “marshmallow sandwich”, i was pretty surprised… i have never heard of such a thing before. According to my sister who heard from my mom, they are a new item sold in Taiwan night markets and are quite popular. After doing some research, I found out they are deep fried mantou (bun) stuffed with colourful marshmallows and drizzled with condensed milk.

Salt & Pepper Chicken Nuggets:

This was $4 for a pretty small bag. The chicken pieces were crispy on the outside and tender on the inside.  I think the dried basil really takes the chicken nuggets to another level — it’s incomplete without it!

Takoyaki:

One thing that I got to have every time I visit the night market is takoyaki! I don’t eat them anywhere else in Vancouver, because I like them made fresh! There were at least three stalls selling this that were all close to one another, so I really didn’t know which one to go to… eventually, we went to the one with the shortest line-up. Aside from the traditional takoyaki filled with octopus, they also offer shrimp, scallop, and veggie options. We stuck with the traditional octopus takoyaki:

The service was really fast — probably because the takoyaki was pre-made, and all the person had to do was put the condiments on top… I didn’t realize they already pre-made a bunch and put them on the side. The takoyaki was still piping hot inside though, so it wasn’t too bad. I thought they tasted tasted pretty good — on par with the takoyaki that I had before. I only detected one small piece of octopus inside the ball of takoyaki though… wish they had put more in. Aside from that, they were delicious! The combination of mayo, teriyaki sauce, and bonito flakes just taste so good together on top of the octopus balls.

Grilled Corn:

The line-up for the grilled corn was super long! I don’t remember how much this was… maybe $2 per corn on the cob. After they grill it, you can sprinkle spices on top for some extra flavour. I think I got cayenne powder… turned out to be super spicy, and I had to rub the majority off with a napkin.

Turkey Leg:

This turkey leg was really big. We all shared this, since it’s too big for one person to eat alone and still have room to eat other things. The turkey meat was not too dry, and was cooked nicely.

Bubble Waffle:

I was seriously craving for bubble waffles ever since we arrived at the night market… but i wanted to wait until we ate the “salty” things before moving on to the sweet.


I think the bubble waffles were  one for $4, and two for $7. Aside from the original flavour, they also have strawberry and chocolate. When I went to order, we wanted to get one original and one strawberry. The lady told me they ran out of strawberry for the day, so we got two original flavours in the end.

The bubble waffles, it tasted good — crispy on the outside and slightly chewy. It certainly satisfied my craving!

Lastly, we went for some mango desserts at this stall that looked pretty good:

Fresh Mango Tapioca:

This was a cool and refreshing dessert. The mango was really fresh (not the canned stuff), and the tapioca and coconut milk tasted great together as well.

Mango Shaved Ice:

This came in quite a large bowl, good for two people to share together. Although it was very tasty, we had trouble finishing it because it was so cold. This would be a more enjoyable dessert on a hotter day.

I had a great time walking around the stalls and trying different snack items. Can’t wait to return next summer!

Summer Night Market 夏日夜市 on Urbanspoon

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2011 3:10 AM

    That bubble waffle woman lied to us. They DID have strawberry >: (

  2. judy permalink
    June 26, 2011 8:01 AM

    加拿大夜市美食真的很貴,有機會來台灣,夜市美食多到爆,吃到肚子撐不下也花不了多少錢,但是也不錯啦,加拿大難得發展出夜市文化,讓大家多一項逛街樂趣,好玩又好吃,

Leave a Reply

