Skip to content

Beard Papa’s

April 22, 2011

Beard Papa’s is a cream puff chain store from Japan that has multiple locations in the Lower Mainland such as Burnaby, Richmond, and downtown Vancouver. If you haven’t tried them out yet, you should! The cream puff shells are crispy in texture, while the cream inside is light and airy.

What I really like about Beard Papa’s cream puffs is how fresh they are and taste. Branded as “fresh’n natural cream puffs”, they really do live up to their name. The custard filling is made fresh everyday with natural ingredients. I love how many different flavours they have as well, with my favourite so far being the original — vanilla.

On this occasion, PonDeRing brought back home a half dozen cream puffs from the location in Richmond Centre. They had a new flavour, black sesame flavoured cream puffs available on that day. I’ve never tried it before, so I was quite excited to try it out.

Black Sesame ($1.95):

I’m a big fan of black sesame, but this cream puff was quite disappointing. The flavour of black sesame was too strong and gave the custard filling a hint of bitterness. I think that maybe a tad more sugar is needed to balance out the natural bitterness of black sesame. The choux pastry shell, however, was crispy and delicious.

Green Tea ($1.95):

I love green tea desserts, but this one wasn’t that good. The flavour of the green tea was present, but I think more green tea powder would have made this even better. From the picture, you can see that not a lot of green tea powder was used in the custard filling — hence the light green colour.

Eclair ($1.95):

I’ve never tried eclairs until now, but it’s become my new favourite from Beard Papa’s! It’s basically an original vanilla cream puff with dark chocolate on top. The vanilla cream puff is already delicious by itself, and the chocolate coating is the icing on the cake. With the eclairs, you get the best of both worlds — chocolate andvanilla. Do give this a try if you’re a chocolate lover like me.

As usual, the cream puffs were filled with a generous amount of custard cream, so they do make for quite a satisfying snack. I really wanted to try the strawberry or earl grey tea flavours, but they never seem to have them whenever I’m there. They also have other items on the menu such as  ice-cream puffs and fondant au chocolate, but I think their availability varies with location.

Beard Papa's (Richmond Centre) on Urbanspoon

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2011 3:01 AM

    The Richmond centre one was supposed to have chestnut flavor that day as well. (Mont blanc) but they didn’t make any that day = =”
    Eclair’s my favorite as well~ :)

  2. April 30, 2011 5:03 PM

    Just discovered your food blog! I have a blogroll on my site called chowtimes.com. I am going to add your blog to it. I hope it is alright with you! Ben

  3. April 30, 2011 5:07 PM

    Oh BTW. Just wanted to let you know you should set the name of your blog on wordpress. Right now, your feed is not picking up the name of the blog as it should for some reason.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

